Percy Jackson and the Olympians

Percy Jackson & the Olympians is a pentalogy of fantasy novels written by American author Rick Riordan, and the first book series in the Camp Half-Blood Chronicles. The novels are set in a world with the Greek gods in the 21st century, and follows the protagonist Percy Jackson, a young demigod who must prevent the Titans, led by Kronos (Cronus), from destroying the world. [Wikipedia].

Devouring the first five books in less than a week made me realize why they are raved everywhere. My exposure to middle-grade books is very limited. This is the second middle-grade series I’ve taken interest in after the Harry Potter series.

It is easily the most immersive book series I’ve read this year.

I have no idea how to describe my fondness for this book and the characters. I can say I love all the characters in the story since each and every one of them have a background story and there is not a character left astray.

The character I fell in love with was Grover Underwood, the satyr. I did not forget the sass that spews from Percy’s mouth. Annabeth is strong and calculative. Poseidon and Hades are absolutely amazing. Blackjack and Tyson are absolute darlings. And, since morning, I am inclining towards Chiron, the centaur.

Apollo’s haikus are awful and I’m all here for it. The animals in here conversing with humans are the best part. Blackjack calling Percy Yo, Boss! will never get old.

Yo, boss! You manage to stay alive without me?

Blackjack, Titan’s Curse

I liked how the author included ADHD and dyslexia as a main trait in series. The child born through a mortal being and a god is called as a demigod. ADHD and dyslexia are the definitive traits of a demigod. The reason being since these kids have a god as one of their parents, their bodies are tuned for more ‘war’ like situations rather than the regular mundane ones.

Since the children are only 12, there is no pressure to include romantic arcs. The friendship here is so warm. There are many characters in the series and no two characters feel the same and that is the best part.

Various human behaviours have been explored in the books and I guess it is a good thing in children’s books.

The children Riordan had used as the main characters are not one dimensional; they are as complex as the adults in every other story. I like how he did not include any childish situations to remind us that these are children but still manages to showcase their adolescent innocence in every page. As the children grow, we can see how much their character changes from previous books.

I read the five books; four books being four different quests from different prophecies, and the fifth one being the quest of great prophecy, which is war. I like how each book has different person as the quest leader but still includes Percy as a tagalong for the quest.

The (fifth) book on the whole is about war and war alone, and I am not even mad at reading those action scenes. I absolutely hated in the third(?) book of Red Queen series where the author went on and on about war, but this, oh man. This is some god-level writing I would say. Greek gods really jumped out of his books and blessed him while writing it seems. How could someone make some 300 pages of war details interesting? Who would’ve thought? He could’ve easily made this fifth book 800 pages long, but he still kept it compact without leaving out any details.

… … … a dog’s howl pierced the air somewhere behind the Titan’s army. ‘Arrooooooo!‘ … … … The strangest thing happened. They began to part, clearing a path through the street like something behind them was forcing them to. … … … Nico strode forward. The enemy army fell back before him like he radiated death, which of course he did.

The Last Olympian, Rick Riordan.

These lines live in my head rent-free along with some other lines from the series. I also absolutely love the melancholy of Calypso and Percy. Way to make a grown lady cry. Speaking of crying, Poseidon and Percy scenes are a delight to read, especially the hug scene in the final chapter.

The dynamic between Percy and Sally, his mom, is wonderful. They way the gods interact with their children are …interesting to read. They are every bit awkward as the human parents who would meet their children for the first time. Not going to lie, Rioran made me want to read all the mythology books in the world.

There is a chapter titled ‘We meet the dragon of eternal bad breath’ in one of the books. Yeah, I’m sold.

The character development is wonderful, writing is clean and direct. Even though the POV is from single person alone, it doesn’t feel like we are stuck inside their head. The person being sassy helps though. I love how Riordan included what’s happening outside the narrator’s view as dream sequences. The word building is amazing and the world building is incredible. It is easy to forget you are reading a book. It teleports you to Manhattan easily.

It is not easy to make someone forget they are reading. Riordan is a fine writer who excels in creating fantastic universes for children, and adults alike, where they could escape to. My Pinterest feed is now full of PJO fanarts and memes. This is my favourite read of this year.

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started